## IN RECOGNITION OF NATIONAL ARBOR DAY

## **APRIL 29, 2022**

WHEREAS, IN 1872, J. STERLING MORTON PROPOSED TO THE NEBRASKA BOARD OF AGRICULTURE THAT A SPECIAL DAY BE SET ASIDE FOR THE PLANTING OF TREES; AND

WHEREAS, THIS SPECIAL DAY, CALLED ARBOR DAY, IS NOW OBSERVED THROUGHOUT THE NATION AND

THE WORLD WITH THE PLANTING OF MORE THAN A MILLION TREES; AND

WHEREAS, FOR OVER TWENTY-FIVE YEARS, THE CITY OF HOLLYWOOD HAS BEEN RECOGNIZED AS A TREE

CITY USA BY THE NATIONAL ARBOR FOUNDATION. THE CITY WISHES TO CONTINUE ITS TREE PLANTING TRADITION AND PROMOTE THE CARE OF TREES AS A VALUABLE NATURAL

RESOURCE; AND

WHEREAS, TREES PLANTED WITHIN THE CITY ARE ENVIRONMENTALLY SAFE AND HELP REDUCE THE

EROSION OF OUR PRECIOUS TOPSOIL FROM WIND AND WATER, CUT HEATING AND COOLING COSTS, MODERATE THE TEMPERATURE, CLEAN THE AIR, PRODUCE LIFE-GIVING OXYGEN, AND

PROVIDE A HABITAT FOR WILDLIFE; AND

WHEREAS, TREES PLANTED WITHIN THE CITY ARE ECONOMICALLY FEASIBLE, ASSIST IN THE CITY'S

BEAUTIFICATION, INCREASE PROPERTY VALUES, BEAUTIFY OUR PARKS AND COMMUNITIES AND COUNTLESS OTHER RECYCLABLE PRODUCTS, THUS AVOIDING THE WASTEFUL

CONSUMPTION OF MATERIAL RESOURCES; AND

WHEREAS, ON THURSDAY, APRIL 28, 2022, AT 10:00 AM, IN CELEBRATION OF THE 150<sup>TH</sup> ANNIVERSARY

OF ARBOR DAY, THE CITY WILL PLANT A SOUTHERN LIVE OAK TREE AT MARA BERMAN GIULIANTI PARK. MARA BERMAN GIULIANTI PARK IS LOCATED AT 4151 N. HILLS DRIVE IN

THE EMERALD HILLS NEIGHBORHOOD; AND

WHEREAS. THE CITY OF HOLLYWOOD CALLS UPON ALL CITIZENS TO SUPPORT THESE EFFORTS AND CARE

FOR OUR TREES AND WOODLANDS, SUPPORT OUR CITY'S COMMUNITY FORESTRY PROGRAM, AND PLANT TREES TO GLADDEN THE HEARTS AND PROMOTE THE WELL-BEING OF PRESENT

AND FUTURE GENERATIONS; NOW

THEREFORE, JOSH LEVY, MAYOR OF THE CITY OF HOLLYWOOD, FLORIDA, AND THE HOLLYWOOD CITY

COMMISSION, HEREBY PROCLAIM FRIDAY, APRIL 29, 2022, AS:

## NATIONAL ARBOR DAY

SIGNED THIS 20th DAY OF APRIL 2022 AT HOLLYWOOD, FLORIDA

MAYOR JOSH LEVY

VICE MAYOR CARYL S. SHUHAM

COMMISSIONER LINDA HILL ANDERSON

COMMISSIONER TRACI L. CALLARI

COMMISSIONER ADAM GRUBER

COMMISSIONER KEVIN D. BIEDERMAN

COMMISSIONER LINDA SHERWOOD